Tags

, ,

I feel like I’m finally getting around to a post related to my blog name (travelindigo).  I have three trips lined up this summer of varying duration and intensity.  My first trip is coming right up and I’m heading to the Midwest to visit family. My 90+ year old aunt is coming in from California for a celebration and I thought it was an ideal time to combine a couple of family-related outings basically visiting almost everyone in one go.

Awash with ideas

Awash with ideas

Typically for these trips I don’t pack much by way of clothing. My two sisters have ample selection of things that fit me and then there’s always fabulous thrift store shopping to fill in the gaps.  This time though, I want to actually bring a good selection of my own things, which I will leave there to be repacked when I travel with my parents to Poland in late August.

This presents a bit of a conundrum then.  What do I want to take, now, that I might want to wear now and that will be suitable when I take my trip in August?  Compounding this, I prefer to travel light, very light, and don’t want to be taking too much on either trip. Oh and I rather like to blend in.  Not that hard to do in Chicago. Maybe more difficult in Poland where we’ll be both in a big city – Krakow – and smaller, rural areas.

I’m pretty sure I’m going to pack my leather jacket or denim jacket, light raincoat and an umbrella. And of course undergarments and toiletries.  But beyond that….     I guess it’s time to see what’s in my closet.

I wanted to stay with neutral colors and black as I’ve found black to the best color for traveling.  Except maybe in Africa and India where the sun is too dang hot. I like to pack a fair number of scarves to change it up. So here’s where I’m at so far:

3 skirts, 6 tops, one possibly two sweaters, leggings and 3 or 4 scarves.  I’ll be gone for twelve days on both trips.  I’m thinking of throwing in a pair of jeans since we’ll be in a “resort” area as well for the Poland trip. And one of my soft hats — I can’t stand to be cold and have found it’s useful to pack a hat.

Some potential outfits:

 

Grey skirt, black top

Grey skirt, black top

 

Same skirt, long vest, different scarf

Same skirt, long vest, different scarf

Same vest/scarf, new skirt

Same vest/scarf, new skirt

New skirt/tops

New skirt/tops

Same skirt, different top

Same skirt, different top

Shoes I think are going to be my biggest issue.  I cannot wear flat flats, like a bit of a heel and prefer something that’s got a bit of style. Did I say I like to blend in? Shoes are often a dead give-away. I don’t wear high heels and even if I did would find them inappropriate for the kind of travel I’m doing. My last pair of travel shoes are two years old and darn near wore out.  I think I have some choices narrowed down but would appreciate any thoughts.

Looking at my pix it would appear my wardrobe is a bit too dressy for the Midwest trip but I’m not too worried about that.  I have other closets to pick in.

Setting up for these shots I realized I have absolutely no neutral wall space in my house except the bathroom!  I feel so very, very new at this (blogging) when I look at the fabulous photos on the blogs I read such as Style Crone, Not dead yet style and Ephemera — so well done and that’s just a handful of them. I could get discouraged or just plug away, getting educated, observing,reading and most of all practicing. I think I’ll stick with the latter.

 

Linda

 

 

