Tags

,

A couple of weeks back I did a profile of my friend Jayme whose sense of style I put in the fashion maven category.

Today I want to give a shout-out to a friend who is stalwart, true and kind (and who also has a little bit of wicked humor).  Sally is a five-year breast cancer survivor and she puts the vivacious into survival.  I’ve been dancing with Sally since her daughter was about 11 or 12 (she’s now a lovely eighteen soon headed off to college). I think Sally joined the team so Clair could dance but no matter, she stuck with it and today is our team squire (aka den mother).

Sally is a therapist and she uses a light, trained hand in her interpersonal relationships.  I have gone to her for guidance and a listening ear when I’ve been hassled by people and situations.  Just last week she gave me some tips for feeling better while under stress.

  • Raise your arms gently above your shoulders – I think of it as a flying motion
  • Give a little half smile
  • Raise your eyebrows and then release them

I can’t remember what these are intended to do. But they bring a bit of a smile to my mind which goes a long way in releasing stress for me.

Sally’s reminders about feelings and relationships are given with just the right touch to help people hear her message.  She also helps me understand why it’s sometimes difficult to face change – especially when I’m trying to get our team to try something challenging —  and how time and patience help while the brain is processing and re-organizing.

But she’s only human (thank God)! And I was delighted to discover in the course of our friendship that Sally has a delicious sense of humor revealed when playing Cards Against Humanity.

So I raise a glass of kombucha, her drink of choice, to my friend’s successful fight and her continued life on this plane of being.

Linda

Sally and some of the team, dancing.

Sally and some of the team, dancing out in Seattle.

A quick word about our dance team.  We morris dance.  A form of English folk dancing that is fun to dance and can be a bit like organized street theater. The Brits tend to make fun of morris dancing (apparently so do we,  listen to this episode of Wait, Wait Don’t Tell Me http://www.npr.org/programs/wait-wait-dont-tell-me/306834211/wait-wait-dont-tell-me-for-april-26-2014) You can visit our team website for more information and pictures www.renegaderose.net

 

