Tags

, ,

I am not sure what they call dachas in Polish.  It’s probably somewhat insulting to use the Russian word since there’s significant enmity between Poles and Russia.  But these places in Zakopane and environs are beautiful and as Zakopane has been a spa and resort town for over 100 years, I can imagine that many of these homes were used as vacation getaways and still are.  The external woodwork is phenomenal and judging by what is found in the home we’re renting I suspect the interiors are as well.

IMG_4240

Family gathered in the dining room

There’s a small play house  in the back of where we’re staying which would make a great tiny home.  My sisters and I have had a fantasy of getting some land and building 5 tiny homes, one for each family, plus a central building (kitchen and family room only) where everyone could hang out.  The further fantasy is that they could be built to look like homes in the Polish mountain style. Maybe in the next life time.

The following photos are some details from the home:

image

Eyelid window

Bedroom

Bedroom

Windows into the main room

Windows into the main room

View from the same windows

View out from the same windows

Bedroom

Bedroom

Detail from external siding. I assume made to look old-style

Detail from external siding. I assume made to look old-style

IMG_4242

Detail from inside woodwork

House next door

House next door

My mother has been delighted to find that her ancestral land is not quite as poor and down at the heels as she expected.  And that in fact it is full of natural beauty.  Because her parents never talked about where they were from, I think she imagined a very bleak environment. And perhaps it was. I was doing research at one point that led me to believe that there was a significant famine in the region, between the wars which led to substantial immigration to the U.S.  An interesting statue in the middle of the Zakopane pedestrian area shows a gorale  reading a newspaper labeled “Zakopane-Chicago”.

We’ve heard some gorale or mountain music at several sites including at the annual Folk Festival. My mom and I could have taken in a lot more of it.  My mom’s childhood remembrances include processions in her Chicago neighborhood (Pilsen) of goral immigrants playing traditional music on fiddles and concertina.

I’ve not been able to post much of the trip because of a lack of internet in Zakopane.  So I’m behind (I’m actually back in the states!)   I’ll have at least one more post about our travels and then it’s back to “normal”. More or less.

(Linking up with Patti at notdeadyetstyle.com. That is back to normal!)

Travel clothes

Travel clothes

 

Linda

