Tags

, , , ,

Mother nature's May creativity

Mother nature’s May creativity

Sometimes it feels like a whirlwind in here and the house looks like a tornado hit. Today the hammers are quiet but there’s been a load of activity from vent installation to plumbing to more framing.  The tub is in place which is quite exciting.

Ah the tub.

Ah the tub.

I have had a fair amount of anxiety about this project and as the pieces come together, I feel my shoulders loosening a bit.

The commitment to keep creative has been more challenging than I expected as I mentioned last week. It is true that I have been keeping up with my writing – another writer in my April poets group has been continuing as well and that has been a good spur to keep going. Grace is very talented and I find myself envious of how accurately and beautifully she is able to capture emotions and situations.

I’ve been interested in creativity, and developing creativity, since my graduate school days. My thesis was on exploring synesthesia as a gateway to creativity (this was way back before the internet, so I had not idea how many other people might have found this topic tantalizing).

This Huffington Post article “Creativity habits” is chock-full of great points but this one resonated with me given my interest in style –

They (creatives) view all of life as an opportunity for self-expression. Nietzsche believed that one’s life and the world should be viewed as a work of art. Creative types may be more likely to see the world this way, and to constantly seek opportunities for self-expression in everyday life.

Some of my favorite sayings come from my kids’ elementary school experience. They went to a neighborhood-wide arts magnet and one year the T-shirts said “Every child has a gift” That’s how I feel about creativity and art. That we all have a gift (or more than one). If we wait around for people to give us permission to explore that gift, well, you might end up believing you don’t have one.

So whether every day is a really creative day, or just a day that sets groundwork , I am going to observe and absorb, dress for myself, and dance with abandon.

bluepurplevintage2

Had this vintage dress for a long time. And it still fits.

 

And I’m sure there will be more on this topic.

Linda

P.S. I also found this article on the creative personality interesting. Happy reading.

