Tags

, , ,

Yesterday we hosted the recharging of our monthly “family dinners”  Thirteen adults gathered in our dining room – kind of like Thanksgiving – to eat, kibbutz and laugh. As hosts, we made the main course, Italian-style meatloaf roulade. Basically a meatloaf with Italian seasons and a little Italian sausage, rolled around smoked mozzarella and sun dried tomatoes.  For carnivores, it was truly a mouthful of delight.  But the thing I was most excited about was the chocolate babka or krantz cake I made,  following and tinkering with a recipe from the Jerusalem cookbook.  I added extra chocolate (of course).  And while the end result was not nearly close picture quality, it was indeed a sweet close to the meal.

In process

In process

On top of a chocked full weekend my daughter requested that I take some pictures of the various hats I’ve collected as she is going to a very cool sounding formal wedding where hats most certainly will be required.  What I REALLY wanted to do was take some lovely studio quality shots of each hat so I could brag (online) about the provenance of each and how they were all carefully curated, blah, blah, blah.  But I don’t have that kind of time so I defaulted to group hat shots in my sunporch.

Brown hats

Brown hats

Black hats

Black hats

Pink hats

Pink hats

Cloche

Cloche

She hasn’t got her dress  yet so I don’t know if any of these will work, but at least one is taking a walk over to Style Crone for the monthly Hat Attack.

We’ve slid right into February, the month for sweethearts. Mine is sitting across the table working on his own to do list.  Earlier in December he was involuntarily retired from his very long time job/career.  We’re adjusting to the abrupt change (more about that some other time) held secure in the arms of love.

Linda

 

