Tags

, , , , ,

These last few days of NaPoWriMo have found me a bit frantic. I’m in the midwest visiting and attending to family business and have had to squeeze in teaching online, traveling, and writing.

My sister and I found a few hours to fit in some antique, resale and vintage clothes shopping.  We browsed and tried on hats (of course) which resulted in my poem for the day (with illustrations).

April 27 – Hats

The stately trilby

makes me think of avenging John Steed

poised with his deadly umbrella.

trilby027

The top hat, this one in beaver

source of the diminishment of a species

now the hat itself has gone extinct.

Carol 2-7

 

The pixie hat, all brown velvet

plushed brim , worn by an elf

over an impish spangling smile

pixie39

The Ascot red straw

brimming from ear to ear

for a woman of substance

red7030

Slight summer weaves

in raffia or straw conceived

to take the heat

straw3-3boater 1-6

Put a story on exhibition,

or change your disposition

at the drop of a hat.

 

We’ll see what the next three days bring!

Linda

Now heading over to Judith’s Hat Attack where hats are always in session. A new post is forthcoming.

