Tags

, ,

I have found myself part of a strange custom to rise before dawn on Mayday and then greet the sunrise (if we’re lucky) or the grey start of the day (if we’re not) following an old English custom that May 1 represented the first day of summer. Mayday or Beltane was probably celebrated in pre-Christian England as a religious festival but over time (and Christianity) lost its’ particular religious connotations.IMG_6304

Maypoles and Maybaskets are also associated with the day and when my kids were small, and even now if I remember, we would leave small baskets of flowers on the doorknobs of our neighbors.

NaPoWriMo is over but I still hope to continue with my writing practice. I leave you with a Mayday poem and a few pictures of my day – dancing up the dawn.

may I the May take
to relish, and tarry
the sun has burst through
at the quickening dawn.

may I the steps take
to walk soft, unhurried
through burgeoning gardens;
abundant green lawns.

may I the dance make
with friends and companions
to welcome the summer
to sing it along.

for winter is over
the cold curse is broken
we find ourselves fervent
in love called upon.

IMG_6308IMG_6299

