Tags

, , ,

Already?  Too soon, too soon for this acclimated Northwesterner. But it’s true that local growers have had a bumper crop of peonies — of which these beauties are only a small sample.

IMG_6329

I get to play with all manner of luscious flowers at a volunteer gig I’ve taken on with the Bloom Project, a nonprofit here that repurposes flowers and greens to distribute to hospice organizations, nursing homes and local hospitals and care centers.  Each week I and my fellow floral volunteers get to design with tens and sometimes hundreds of blooms turning this:

IMG_6327and this:

IMG_6330IMG_6328

Into this:

IMG_6332Flowers come from our local wholesale markets, grocery stores, and other donors.

I volunteer Monday or Wednesday when  I wear more modest clothes (even pants!) to work with these floral beauties. But Wed. is my day to teach and this Wed, June 1 is also time for Judith’s Hat Attack.

white hat47So I’ve traded in my green stained skirt for this cute little topknot straw topper and this lovely turquoise vintage dress which was a friend’s mother’s “graduation from nursing school” dress.

turqoise6

IMG_6341

I love the color which just speaks summer to me, like this glimpse into my garden.

Linda

