travelgreys239004

Sorry to have missed the Judith’s first of the month Hat Attack. I am usually quite prompt with finding a good hat (and writing a post to go along with it). Alas, August was a whirlwind of activity, as August usually is. Compounded by visits from the far flung children.  Soon to be further flung as our eldest heads off again to West Africa to begin the field research portion of her PhD. She is now ABD or “all but dissertation” moving from being a graduate student to a PhD candidate by passing her orals and her topic defense.  Her brother squeezed a few days off from his job as a pastry chef to enjoy the wonders of the PNW as well and we barbecued, ate, drank, hiked and ate some more in celebration of our children and the glorioius summer.

I was also up against the wire with grading as I taught two courses this summer – one a course in grantwriting as an intensive (3 weekends) and a totally online course in governance and leadership.  Grading papers took me the better part of the month as both courses were quite writing intensive.

As per usual we managed to squeeze in some traveling.  The photo is a typical example of my travel togs.  I like black especially on what I call the “transition” days when I’m getting from place to place. Black travels well, doesn’t show stains (too much!) nor wrinkles.  The layered look here includes a black short sleeve blouse, black peplum style over top, grew striped “sweater”, black skirt and grey leggings.  A pair of blue earrings and a scarf finishes up. And did you notice my turquoise hair? maybe next time.

Linda

Save

Save

Save

Save

