Tags

, , , ,

Petals ornament
the pool, in autumn shimmers
a reflected moon

img_1870

 

Imagine my surprise. That winner was me!

For the second year I entered the Lan Su Chinese Garden competition for their Mumvember Celebration.  Twenty-three designers are chosen from countless entries.  This year I took inspiration from the garden itself, thanks to my husband whose keen observations of the landscape pointed out a lovely reflection of the sky and vine in the large pond that makes up most of the center of the garden.

For such a small project (19″ x 31″) the process was painstaking, and required quite a few mums to pave the pond – a technique involving closely set flowers so that they are more two dimensional than three dimensional.  Not to mention quite a bit of moss!

In process:

Resource material

Resource material

Setting up the vining backdrop

Setting up the vining backdrop

Close up of the vine

Close up of the vine

"Pool" close-up

“Pool” close-up

Other arrangments were fantastical. I’m not sure the etiquette on posting other people’s work but here are two of the many, fabulous pieces.

Michelle Koeppe

Michelle Koeppe

Lin Petrus

Lin Petrus

You can also see more at Oregon Live.That will give you some idea of the other entrants.  Given that, you can imagine my surprise when I was chosen the People’s Choice Award Winner. Seriously. I believe it was all that moss. We rain-soaked Oregonians love our wet.

I’m already dreaming up what I might do next year. It could involve moss.

Linda

img_1925

Soaking up the autumn sun

 

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

