Tags

, , , ,

We had a real snow downpour (snowpour?) here in Portland this past week – 12” at our house. This is fairly unusual and the city, as usual, is caught worse for wear.  There is not enough snow equipment since it snows infrequently. No salt trucks (note the pristine condition of our cars). Few cars equipped with snow tires.  Few drivers equipped with snow sense.

Portland literally shuts down.  There is not enough snow equipment since it snows infrequently. No salt trucks (note the pristine condition of our cars). Few cars equipped with snow tires.  Few drivers equipped with snow sense.  We’re issued decrees to hunker down and avoid unnecessary travel.  Our transit system grinds to a halt. The weekend previous found us housebound concerning snow and icy conditions.  This storm, beginning Tuesday night, socked us in even further.

So what does a girl about town do when snowbound (again)? She does her online teaching, cleans the house, finally finishes holiday cards, and makes things.

In my housebound post earlier this month I talked about making hats and since then I further embellished one and binged some more making two additional hats.

Here’s the initial hat, gussied up to where I like it more.

img_2126

The pink hat is a nod to feline empowerment. Pink felt got adorned with a repurposed men’s tie.  I love men’s ties.  Beautiful silks with wonderful patterns, men’s ties are underappreciated adornment.  I’ve a small collection that I had yet to repurpose. Honestly, I didn’t quite know what to do with them.  I had the brainstorm to use the skinny part of the tie as a contrasting facing on the pink hat.  Obviously I didn’t stop there and made a “topper” with the fat part.

img_2119

img_2129

I repeated the use of a tie with the blue hat.  I had a similar blue hat a few years back that I lost (darn it) and had intentions to make another one.  I still had the blue upholstery fabric and even the embellishments, so I took the opportunity to make a good hat even better.

img_2123

I still have the two smaller headband/hats to finish up.  I think I’ve been stalling because they take so much handwork and I haven’t gotten the armature put together that I hope will better fit the hats and me. That may have to wait though as I don’t think I’m going anywhere far for awhile.

Snow is not scheduled to melt until sometime next week.

The house is warm, and I’ve got no place to be…..  I guess I’ll continue to work on my projects.

View from our back door

View from our back door

Linda

Sharing on I will wear what I like and Visible Monday

Save

Save

