Tags

,

From today’s Napowrimo prompt

Strong Bodies/12 ways
1.
My love
naked as the day he was born
bigger than a bread box

2.
There’s a lanky feel to your legs
Bones, muscle, the sinew above
Finally the flesh
yielding to touch, like firm fruit.

3.
pulse
push
punch
prance
bodies in motion
intent, to stay fit
grasp fiercely
at the muscle memory
of youth.

4.
for your eyes only
I uncloak.
Drop pretense of modesty
become love’s prowler.

5.
Help me build.
Lift with me the weights
of love and regret.
You will add on the incremental
pounds. I won’t be allowed
to remain, erect.

6.
What were those nutrients again?
repacked into the bleached crumb
of bread. All the value of nothing
except to remind us of the
wonder of whiteness.

7.
Sticks and stones
may break my bones
bruise, crush, detain.
Words in haste or jest can stain
the soul in unplumbed measure.
The pain of wound can fade, will mend,
the telltale scar reminder. While
words can poke or prod or shame
the mutilation viler.

8.
Lay me down.
Your unadorned body
a coy gesture, inviting.
The shoulder blades arch to angel wings
a fly-by-nite journeyman heading lately
to morning.
9.
Once we made love in the woods
The pine needles clung to your back
I knew any noise we would make
would sift itself into the silent rocks.

10.
Tattoos grace his back
muscles rippling a message,
welcome here. Or not.

11.
Amplified by good earth
the trees stretch long limbed arms
way from that very tether.

What can they hope to find in the sky
that is not already being born
in the sap.

12.
Strong bodies my love
yours and mine, the others that have
come before and will behind.

Strong bodies my love
Not as strong as time
the crash comes anyway, like the tides.

Eventually we will be both
be washed out to sea.

